Erollisi Marr - The Nameless

Go Back   Erollisi Marr - The Nameless > EverQuest > Chit-Chat Lounge


Reply
 
Add/Share Add/Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2002, 11:57 PM   #1
Cattie Luv
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Unmountable_boot_volume


Trying to install windows xp on my computer.

i boot from cd. installer loads. i select which harddrive to install on. format it. it copies some files. reboots.
then when it's loading. i get a blue screen of death with the error message
UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME


i've tried to make smaller partitions. tried it with one only harddrive on IDE chain.

i've tried to partition with fdisk
i've run chkdsk from revovery console with /r command
i've run fixmbr, fixboot and fdisk /mbr

i've downloaded and run a harddrive tool from seagates page and it says my harddrive is in tip top shape

i've tried a diffrent harddrive


no dice. whatever i seem to do makes no diffrence...

anyone here got any ideas what might be wrong?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 12:26 AM   #2
Zolmaz Zo Boto
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default HD for sure..


Your HD sounds Fubared..

I went through the same thing many years ago..
sounds familiar..

<<<i boot from cd. installer loads. i select which harddrive to install on. format it. it copies some files. reboots.
then when it's loading. i get a blue screen of death with the error message
UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME>>>>



New hard drive.. Done.. Your Gtg.

Btw unless you Installed a NEW HD,, That could also
be the trouble..
Check your BIOS and be sure it understands the new
PARTITIONS you made to your HD..

Also Run /Scandisk You can do that from the start disk..

Also sounds like your not running your partitions
correctly.

Run your /Fdisk and make sure they are set correctly..

I have also found that if you make a Typo You will never
get a HD to work.. Get your nose into the BooK!


Cover all your bases... Get it ON GIRL !!!


Zolmaz Zo'Boto
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 12:29 AM   #3
Zolmaz Zo Boto
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Um...


Also check if the drive is 32 or 16..

Didn't they give you a Manual with that ?
Heh.


Zolmaz.../...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 12:35 AM   #4
Zolmaz Zo Boto
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default ....


Also try reseting your Bios from inside the Mainframe..
--I know this is tough-- But after your Fdisk some
MB's are picky..

OR turn it all off..... Wait 3 min ,, Smoke a cig.. Then
GO GIRL..

I swear.. !! And I will never use another A-whatever puter word again.

Zolmaz.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 12:59 AM   #5
Dwarkarn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ....


i've tried a diffrent harddrive
You don't know how to read Zolmaz?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 01:01 AM   #6
Ogmuk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ....


Do or did you use NTFS Karin? Sounds like your NTFS drive didn't get flushed (I know for a fact that there is a Microsoft Windows Update patch for this problem). If this is the case, it can pretty easily be fixed by loading a program like Winternal's NTFSDOS. When you mount your drive in DOS (it could take a few attempts before it mounts), you can reboot and see if it works then. You can download a demo version here:
www.winternals.com/demos/ntfspror.exe

Let me know if it works or doesn't.

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 01:16 AM   #7
Zolmaz Zo Boto
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default ..


Nice to hear your input to help Cattie..
Dwarkarn.

This is to help Cattie, And give suggestions.
Not to flame.



Offer help.. Simple.. It's easy.. Take in the few clues Cattie Gives and work it..

Zolmaz Zo'Boto
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 02:08 AM   #8
Dwarkarn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ..


I wasn't flaming anyone, was simply commenting on your inability to read text. Help is no good if you aren't offering a solution.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 06:13 AM   #9
Misty
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ..


Don't forget to drain your m/board CMOS manually (get inside the PC case and change the cmos jumper e.g. across pins 0+1 to pins 1+2 momentarily) before you reset your BIOS settings. And set the HDD device detection to auto if you haven't done that, make it detect your HDD.


  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 07:22 AM   #10
Cattie Luv
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ..


it's fixed now.

apparently there is some error with using a 80pin ide connection cable and windows xp.

after flashing bios to newest version and load fail safe defaults it worked. now i just need service pack 1 and i should be able to use the good bios settings.



thanks for the help.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 02:10 PM   #11
Ulujain Ebonelphette
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ..


Glad you got it fixed. Windows 2000' and XP's "excellent" ability to boot natively from a UDMA 66+ drive is unreal.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 03:18 PM   #12
Arnwolf Magnuson
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ..


I'll mount your boot volume...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 03:41 PM   #13
Aishen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ..


same here...

rawr katty~
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2002, 04:07 PM   #14
Igota
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ..


I have been thinking the same thing for a few days now, glad someone finally said it so I don't look like a perv.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 12:10 AM   #15
Cattie Luv
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: ..


you can mount me anytime you want Aishen...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 01:11 PM   #16
Darue Ivywood
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default re XP FYI


Just an FYI..

as for myself, I recently 'aquired' a copy of XP Corporate (as I DID buy the home edition, and personally think its a ripoff to HAVE to buy a copy for every computer, I dont classify myself as a pirate..since I did buy one copy, I just think M$ is greedy)

but anyways...if you did that, be wary of SP1 (or any other service pack). M$ has found out about the 'compromised' key's and has changed some things to the Service Pack if those questionable key's are used.

as the title implies, just an FYI.


  Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 01:53 PM   #17
solistar
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: re XP FYI


Anyone had problems with the XP SP1?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 03:12 AM   #18
Nirecnad the Trademaster
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: re XP FYI


If you have a pirated version of XP and cannot download service pack 1, be sure to go into your Pchealth directory and delete or rename the file uplddrv.html (I think that's the name, or something very similar)

That file allows scripting from an e-mail to delete files on your hard drive.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 05:36 AM   #19
Aishen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: re XP FYI


/mount Katty
/drizzle chocolate syrup on Katty
/lick off
/frolic with Katty in hot tub
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 12:07 AM   #20
Cattie Luv
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: re XP FYI


bliss!

omigosh i luv you baby!


/lick Aishen
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 12:14 AM   #21
TheClericBanton
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: re XP FYI


:eek
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2002, 02:11 AM   #22
Daveena
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: re XP FYI


If you have a pirated version of XP and cannot download service pack 1, be sure to go into your Pchealth directory and delete or rename the file uplddrv.html (I think that's the name, or something very similar)

That file allows scripting from an e-mail to delete files on your hard drive.
This file has nothing to do with the CD-Key check.

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2002, 08:02 AM   #23
Darue Ivywood
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default M$ is Greedy


Daveena,

send me an E-mail. So i can send you one too


  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2002, 08:27 AM   #24
Daveena
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: M$ is Greedy


Darue, you da schiznitz!!!

Thanks a lot!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin. Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.