Erollisi Marr - The Nameless

Go Back   Erollisi Marr - The Nameless > EverQuest > Chit-Chat Lounge


Reply
 
Add/Share Add/Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2003, 06:59 AM   #1
Inmountains
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,501
Default Skins

With the new bard song box, my old skins don't work so I was just wondering if any of you know of any good web sites for downloading some skins (my son did my previous skins so I am a relative noob at this), I would like to change my interface totally this time. Thanks!

Inmountains aka Mike
Inmountains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2003, 08:25 AM   #2
gonades
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 146
Send a message via AIM to gonades
www.equi.com or something like that
__________________
Jizzle
gonades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2003, 09:50 AM   #3
Elan Cendran
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 124
Send a message via MSN to Elan Cendran
http://www.eqinterface.com/ is good too.
Elan Cendran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2003, 08:05 PM   #4
Xargylex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chi-town
Posts: 128
I'm having the same problem but I really like my skin and don't want to see it poof for good. Anyone know how to fix this problem?
__________________
Coercer Xargylex Dreamchaser
Bedazzler of <Anlah'shok>
O Muse!
Sing in me, and through me tell the story
Of that man skilled in all the ways of contending
A wanderer, harried through many years
Xargylex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2003, 08:52 PM   #5
Charnicc
태미
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cheong-ju, South Korea
Posts: 73
This is a link to the directions I followed ...

Posted by Cairenn on EQGUI Forums

Clear and easy fixes (I know nothing about computers and was still able to fix this myself) ... just make sure to read all of it.

Good luck
__________________
Huntress Charnicc Mistmourn ~ EMarr Retired
Ahrae ~ WoW Scarlet Crusade Retired *yawns*
Charnicc Mistmourn ~ Permafrost
Charnicc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2003, 06:30 PM   #6
Xargylex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chi-town
Posts: 128
Tried that link Charnicc but didn't help. My UI is setup like this: copied all contents of default folder into a new folder. Unzipped a buffwindow, player window, color scheme, spell icons, and spell book into that folder overriding the originals.

This worked for me until the last patch. The skin no longer loads and instead loads the default folder again. I've tried copying my default folder again and adding my custom files again (none of which are listed on that link) but to no avail.
__________________
Coercer Xargylex Dreamchaser
Bedazzler of <Anlah'shok>
O Muse!
Sing in me, and through me tell the story
Of that man skilled in all the ways of contending
A wanderer, harried through many years
Xargylex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2003, 09:49 PM   #7
Azul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 70
whenever one of my UI windows breaks or it wont load the custom folder i look at the uierrors.txt file in the EQ directory. it tells what .xml file has problems and usually go from there. with the new windowed mode you can also make on-the-fly changes and reload the UI to see if it worked.
__________________
Azul Mininec
Arch Lich
Midnight Fury
Azul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2003, 09:55 PM   #8
Kemora
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 488
Send a message via AIM to Kemora
Also.. you should NOT have all the UI files in your custom UI directory.

You should *only* have the files you've changed in your custom directory. Otherwise you're making a huge headache for yourself.
__________________
Kemortia Kementari Dread Lord, Ascendence

AIM: Kemorakementari
Kemora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2003, 01:05 AM   #9
Aanadwene
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Marcos, Tx
Posts: 22
Just copy all the files in your default that start with EQUI and paste them to your custom UI....should work.
Aanadwene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2003, 04:31 AM   #10
Charnicc
태미
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cheong-ju, South Korea
Posts: 73
Oh, I'm sorry to see this didn't work for you Xargylex.

I have looked at my 'Custom UI' folder and in it are only the files that are 'modified' - all of the 'unmodified' files remain in my 'Default UI' folder (which is what Kemora has suggested you do to your UI folders).

The way that I understand it (remember I am dumb when it comes to computers ... so I could be out-to-lunch on this), the files in the 'Default UI' folder are automatically updated with any EQ patch that directly involves the game's UI (such as the latest one). However, the few 'modified' files that live in your 'Custom UI' folder will need to be manually updated by you in order to comply with the patches to the 'Default UI'.

I hope out of all of this you find the help you are looking for ... I know how much it sucks to find a UI you like and not be able to use it!

Again, good luck
__________________
Huntress Charnicc Mistmourn ~ EMarr Retired
Ahrae ~ WoW Scarlet Crusade Retired *yawns*
Charnicc Mistmourn ~ Permafrost
Charnicc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2003, 06:48 AM   #11
Kemora
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 488
Send a message via AIM to Kemora
Charnicc hit the nail on the head.
__________________
Kemortia Kementari Dread Lord, Ascendence

AIM: Kemorakementari
Kemora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2003, 08:36 AM   #12
Kerryn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Keren, Naboo
Posts: 1,030
Only having the files needed in your UI folder as suggested will clear the issue. If you aren't sure which one those are then delete EQ_Animations.xml this should clear the problem as a quick fix.

The problem is that certain skins need certain new animations. A good skinner will have their files point to a new animations file but most people are beginners at this and will just amend the Verant version.

When the patch was added the animations file changed but you are overriding that patch causing the problems. If that file hadn't been in your UI folder it would have looked for the default ( patched ) file.

People should remember that any skin they download which requires you to insert a new animations file will have to be amended after every patch and should therefore be avoided like the plague.
Kerryn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin. Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.