Erollisi Marr - The Nameless

Go Back   Erollisi Marr - The Nameless > EverQuest > Chit-Chat Lounge

Add/Share Add/Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2003, 03:49 AM   #1
Kerryn

Default A real test for the computer experts. Please help.

I currently have two computers. One is for my personal use. The second is my girlfriends and lately I've been having some trouble. I've been working in the computer industry for about 3 years now and am reasonably qualified but right now I'm out of my league. Apologies if this is long but this is the sort of information needed in computer queries.

The computers were as follows.

Jetway V266U Motherboard - 2 SDRAM Slots, 2 DDR Ram.
Athlon 1.4ghz CPU
512MB SDRAM
GeForce Ti500
Hercules Gamemuse Soundcard
3 Com 10/100
Conexant 56K modem.
Pioneer DVD Drive
40gb HDD
10.4gb HDD
Windows XP

Jetway Motherboard ( Old so I don't remember the model )
Duron 700mhz CPU
128mb SDRam
GeForce 2 MX400 - Elsa Gladiac 511
D Link Network Card
Soundblaster Pro Soundcard
LG DVD-CD-RW Combi
40gb HDD
Windows XP

Early in December we had some electrical faults and I blew my main computers PSU. So I replaced it, looked at surge protection and stupidly put it off till after Christmas because in the run-up I was broke. But the main machine worked fine after. On the 21st December the second machine stopped working and I assumed it was the same thing and lo and behold when I open up the PSU a capacitor falls out. I nick the fan and bin the rest. Later I replaced the PSU but the computer still wouldn't work. I swapped parts, PSUs, power buttons. Nothing. I assumed the faulty PSU had taken out the motherboard. I was still skint so I left it till pay day. Then I had the idea it could be a faulty memory chip so I try one from my machine in the spare, nothing happens but I fry the memory chip in the process because 2 days later my machine shuts down never to load in again. I take out the memory chip and it loads in.