Erollisi Marr - The Nameless

Go Back   Erollisi Marr - The Nameless > EverQuest > Chit-Chat Lounge


Reply
 
Add/Share Add/Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2002, 07:39 AM   #1
Metzen
Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 194
Default Router troubles

Hope someone could help me here... Just recently got a Linksys router.. I replaced my hub which was connection and disconnecting me ingame (But I still stayed connected to EQ /boggle). But now with this router I can't stay connected more then 10 minutes before it quits on me... Anythin I can do? Works fine when I direct connect to Modem but, router is bein a bitch.

Any Idea would be greatly Apperciated

OH BTW runnin Windows Xp pro if that helps any
Metzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2002, 10:15 AM   #2
maii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6
Default hub

Try to connect your router to your hub/switch see if that helps at all. Sometimes router don't have enough "power", and require very good network cable to stay connected. With a hub/switch it will bost the power and you will have no problem.

I used to have the same problem with a SMC router, soon as I connected the router to a hub, my problem is gone.

*EDIT*
what I mean by connect the router to hub is the following:

Connect your WAN to your router, and connect your router to the uplink of your hub, and you computer to your hub.


Hope this helps.

Last edited by maii; 11-24-2002 at 10:18 AM.
maii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2002, 11:35 AM   #3
Asythanax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1
Linksys eh?

1. Click on START and then click on RUN and type iexplore http://192.168.1.1/filters.htm in the address box, and press on OK. This is the default IP address so if you have changed it use the new one.
2. You will be prompted for a username and password. By default there is no username, and the password is admin.
3. Once you've gotten past the log in you should be at the filters tab.
4. Go to the Forwarding tab, and then click on the Port Triggering button.
5. Once you've done this, a new window will appear. Here is an example of how to fill out the ports:
Application name: everquest
Trigger port range: 1023-9000
Incoming port range: 1023-9000
Asythanax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin. Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.