Erollisi Marr - The Nameless

Go Back   Erollisi Marr - The Nameless > EverQuest > Chit-Chat Lounge


Reply
 
Add/Share Add/Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2002, 09:16 AM   #1
Slayne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to Slayne
Default EQ and WIN 2k

Are there any general configurations that need to be done to have eq run on win2k?

I have it installed, installed win2k drivers for my sisters' voodoo 3(I'm not buyin her an upgrade><) from the main eq site.

However, after I select the server, it crashes and says that it will make an event log. When I check the log, it gives me some sentinel error and says that something might be conflicting or I'm missing a DLL file.

Oh, the drivers from the main eq site didnt install correctly. The main installation couldnt find part of its own files.


~Slayne
Slayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2002, 09:25 AM   #2
Igota
Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern California
Posts: 490
The problem is with that card.

The only inherant problem Win2K has with EQ is the same problem that it has with every game, it is not a gaming OS, and as such has poor coding for graphically intensive games. If you have a Radeon don't even bother, Win2K on a Radeon will cut your frame rate by 20%+.

I am fairly sure that video card no longer supports EQ, because of Direct-X 8.1, but I would be willing to bet that there are some third party drivers that might work with it.
Igota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2002, 10:21 AM   #3
Slayne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to Slayne
I figured it was the card. I tried to use the drivers listed on the EQ website, but it wouldnt install correctly.

The game runs fine on ME with this card. But I had to swap her computer to my mom's till I replace her power supply that just recently died.

Its either let her use moms', who runs WIN2k, or let her use mine. I'd prefer she didnt use mine.



~Slayne
Slayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2002, 10:26 AM   #4
Leldari L
MOD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 230
Send a message via AIM to Leldari L
http://www.voodoofiles.com/3dfxhelp.asp

Slayne you might try the drivers here...I used the Mikepedia one for my Voodoo3 when I stuck it in a spare box to make something Eliri could play on.
__________________
65 Lady Protector of Mithaniel Marr....
http://www.magelo.com/eq_view_profile.html?num=110420
Leldari L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2002, 09:37 PM   #5
Windzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to Windzer
Default Don't forget

On voodoo files, download the glide mapper thing, it makes D3D games use glide code or some such stuff, i got a v3 3500 tv working on EQ with Win2k
Windzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 09:15 AM   #6
Slayne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to Slayne
Will try your suggestions you two, thanks.



~Slayne
Slayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 09:18 AM   #7
Dwarkarn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: de_dust2.bsp
Posts: 1,172
Win 2k is a great OS, most games run on it no problem at all, EQ always was a problem on that OS for me though.
Dwarkarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 03:06 PM   #8
Slayne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to Slayne
Tried a few drivers, none of them work ><
Slayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 04:58 PM   #9
Dwarkarn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: de_dust2.bsp
Posts: 1,172
Slayne, does the mobo have a VIA chipset? If so try grabbing the latest VIA 4 N 1 drivers from somewhere.
Dwarkarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 08:13 PM   #10
Slayne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to Slayne
The computer is like 4 yrs old. I have no idea what MB it has.
Unfortunately, I'm far from being a computer guru. I know how to put ram in and swap cards, thats about as extensive as I can get.


~Slayne
Slayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 12:16 AM   #11
Leldari L
MOD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 230
Send a message via AIM to Leldari L
http://download.com.com/3000-2094-10136022.html

Get this program....it is only a 10 day trial shareware version but all you have to do is run it once and save the info it generates to a text document....notepad will do. It will tell you more about your hardware than any tech is ever liable to ask
__________________
65 Lady Protector of Mithaniel Marr....
http://www.magelo.com/eq_view_profile.html?num=110420
Leldari L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin. Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.