Erollisi Marr - The Nameless

Go Back   Erollisi Marr - The Nameless > EverQuest > Chit-Chat Lounge


Reply
 
Add/Share Add/Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2002, 03:38 AM   #1
Uncle Gorndax
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Very odd WinXP Error


When trying to run some installs or simply open up my CD-rom drive my computer completely shuts down. There is no warning, no proper shut down... the power just goes off and my computer is in off mode. In order to actually start my machine I have to turn the power bar on and off a few times or the PC will not restart.

This has only been happening when I converted from winME to winXP.

Any suggestions?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2002, 02:15 PM   #2
Kharybdis
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

My best suggestion is to not let a Dorf with stubby fingers opperate delicate machinery.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2002, 03:33 PM   #3
Darue Ivywood
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

sounds like a bad power supply.

Have seen the same thing on my work PC before...bad P/S and opening the CD-Rom was just enough to push it over the edge.




  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2002, 03:47 PM   #4
Solome the Enchanter
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Aye, your power supply is fubar, time to invest some of that Gorndax Millions! We all have at least SOME products from the Gorndax Pleasure Suppliers located in 100 different places all over Canada and the United States. Thier motto, "Gorn has laid more pipe then you, he knows what the ladies want more then you, so THERE!" wow, i had had WAAAAY too much caffene today wiki wiki wiki!

Solome Planeswalker
60 Phantasmist
RETIRED
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2002, 06:43 PM   #5
Ulujain Ebonelphette
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

What does Event Viewer say about it? eventvwr at the command line, application and system sections. Probably a lot of cryptic stuff in there, but it may help.

Sounds like a power supply to me too. Until you buy another one, disable all power saving, APMI; stuff like that.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2002, 02:09 PM   #6
Uncle Gorndax
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Damn that sucks... for some reason normal eq will install but as soon as I try to install velious off the machine goes lol. Maybe its a sign to stay away
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2002, 03:08 PM   #7
Sarrin Kanth
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

interesting, havent ran into that problem yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2002, 01:01 AM   #8
bumblefumble
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default RE:


With my Compaq laptop running XP and playing a game, That sometimes happens to me too. I was told it's imporper ventilation (??) for the graphics card, but I dunno. I just try not to play THAT game, and instead play EQ when I can.

/em slaps upper forearm with two fingers vigorously
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2002, 04:20 AM   #9
Zel Greyweather
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default .


Its a sign to create a n00b level 1 character in Freeport (or Kaladim) and start sending shout outs to all your old cronies from there. <img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/embarassed.gif ALT="">


  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin. Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.