Erollisi Marr - The Nameless

Go Back   Erollisi Marr - The Nameless > NON EQ Stuff (Real life, other games, etc.) > Steam Vent

Add/Share Add/Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2004, 11:53 PM   #1
Leldari L
MOD

Send a message via AIM to Leldari L
Unhappy Tech Support Outsourcing Rant

Sorry to interrupt your regularly scheduled ranting but I had to get this off my chest before I call Bellsouth and rip someone's head off and shit down the hole.

About 11:30PM last night my internet connection dropped while I was playing EQ. Not a big deal, I called tech support to see if there was a system issue or if the scheduled upgrade of my account to their new faster DSL service had caused the problem and how long they expected the problem to last.

The first person I got was Eric. Unfortunately Eric was not named Eric at birth and spoke very heavily accented English. As a tech I have worked with many foreign nationals who spoke with an accent so I gave him the benefit of the doubt and when he said there was no system issue I started working with him to correct what seemed to be a problem on my end. Eric took me to Internet tools and had me delete my temp internet files s.o.p so far. Then he wanted me to drop my disc space to 0mb and leave it there. Very not standard. When my pesky little OS said I could only drop it to 1mb Eric got nasty and told me I could drop it to zero and I wasn't co-operating with him.