Erollisi Marr - The Nameless

Go Back   Erollisi Marr - The Nameless > EverQuest > Rants and Flames


Reply
 
Add/Share Add/Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2005, 08:22 PM   #1
Kogur
Phatty!
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 689
Default So...I had a problem on a raid tonight

http://eqforums.station.sony.com/eq/...sage.id=107774

Everyone please follow that link and report this problem. I could have easily gotten a raid wiped tonight because of a problem that is two years old... It's NOT your keyboards causing that shift ky error. Maybe if we can get enough freaking people to respond to it, just MAYBE they'll do something.
__________________
Kogurr Kindsoull
40 Drakken Warrior
Kogur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2005, 09:17 PM   #2
korast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,846
maybe
korast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2005, 09:18 PM   #3
korast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,846
now that i think about it, I believe this error occurs with alt-tabbing of eq windows. Since this is something they dont officially endorse or allow last i Played eq, I think its safe to say they'll never figure the error out.
korast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2005, 10:11 PM   #4
Camien Ta`Mire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Reidsville, GA
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to Camien Ta`Mire Send a message via MSN to Camien Ta`Mire Send a message via Yahoo to Camien Ta`Mire
EQW's code is no longer updated, last I tried running it, it wouldn't allow me to connect. So I use the regular windowed mode of EQ. Also, when Sony patched in the windowed mode, they un-banned any players banned for using EQW, so I can venture a guess that they allow the use of that program...were it up to date
Camien Ta`Mire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2005, 10:49 PM   #5
Ice Weasel X
Banned User
 
Ice Weasel X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,799
Send a message via AIM to Ice Weasel X
I don't use any 3rd party apps, even EQW. I still get this. I'm not what's more annoying - this or the bugged auto-run that starts sometimes when I hit Up while typing a message.
__________________
SMS Text Responder - Convenience and Safety for any Android phone, ad-free.
If you have any questions that aren't answered by the app description, feel free to ask. I have no financial stake in it, but I am the primary tester.
Ice Weasel X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 02:50 AM   #6
Deathands
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 215
You can alt-tab out without using EQW now anyway. Not sure how recent that changed, but some still don't know about it. I never used EQW though, always used the shift-alt-R release method before.

Deathands
70 Necro
Deathands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 03:00 AM   #7
Deviator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 567
sony owes me a new wireless keyboard damnit.... i was having this issue and i thought my key was stuck, i smashed it so many times it actually did break. now im using the crappy keyboard that came with my pc and still have the same problem
__________________
Master Artisan Deviator - 89 Shaman - Whit`s End
Alchemy 300(345) - Baking 300(345) - Blacksmithing 300(345) - Brewing 300(345)
Fletching 300(345) - Jewelry Making 300(345) - Pottery 300(345) - Tailoring 300(345)
Deviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 03:10 AM   #8
Brigiid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,879
Send a message via AIM to Brigiid
I've never had this problem.
Brigiid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 03:54 AM   #9
AresProphet
Priest of Hiroshima
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,932
Send a message via MSN to AresProphet
Reading that thread I'm not surprised they stopped responding. The volume of crying was so loud I almost couldn't hear the complaints.

I've never had the problem, but I just lgoged in to test it and indeed if you push right shift, push the up arrow, release right shift, then release the up arrow you get it. I've just always held down the shift key while scrolling up, never had the opportunity to get the problem.

There's no reason a single key should have a problem like that. I can't see why coding for the right-shift key would be any different from every other key, including left-shift.

Has anyone tried reproducing on a non-XP machine? With a USB keyboard?
__________________
One of the wonders of the world is going down
It's going down I know
It's one of the blunders of the world that no-one cares
No-one cares enough


Attachment 181
AresProphet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 05:22 AM   #10
Kogur
Phatty!
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 689
see...I *think* that's the actual "fix" is in the USB keyboard. My dad bought and shipped me a keyboard, that just happened to be a USB keyboard, and I was unable to recreate the problem.

Of course this is also after I did the temporary fix that can be found on page 3 of that link... So I'm not sure if it was the USB keyboard, or the microsoft application toolkit database, that fixed it but something did. YAY!!
__________________
Kogurr Kindsoull
40 Drakken Warrior
Kogur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 05:38 AM   #11
Keldarn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 584
I don't have time to read the whole thread on the Sony boards, so bear with me if this was covered there.

It isn't "StickyKeys" causing the problem is it? In Windows XP, if you hold the Shift key down for five seconds, it enables StickyKeys (Accessibility Feature). To disable this feature, go into the Control, double click Accessibility Options, and uncheck the box under StickyKeys. If this was covered in the other thread, then disregard.
__________________
Sensei Blaesteil
Keldarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 05:59 AM   #12
Martigan
Supporter
 
Martigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: San Juan Bautista, CA
Posts: 4,461
Send a message via AIM to Martigan
Did you get your account back or something Kogur?
Martigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 06:27 AM   #13
Ice Weasel X
Banned User
 
Ice Weasel X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,799
Send a message via AIM to Ice Weasel X
I think he posted in that thread under the character name he's using now.
__________________
SMS Text Responder - Convenience and Safety for any Android phone, ad-free.
If you have any questions that aren't answered by the app description, feel free to ask. I have no financial stake in it, but I am the primary tester.
Ice Weasel X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 06:53 AM   #14
Devion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 462
Send a message via ICQ to Devion Send a message via AIM to Devion Send a message via MSN to Devion Send a message via Yahoo to Devion
yes, yes he did...
he did indeed
__________________
Conqueror Devion Do`Urdon - Proud and Loyal Officer of Whit`s End
Ascendence - R.I.P.

"I would assume that if I was destined to be the Anti-Christ, my father would have informed me."
Devion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 09:40 AM   #15
Kogur
Phatty!
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 689
oh ya..

I forgot to change my sig. I'll do that later today.
__________________
Kogurr Kindsoull
40 Drakken Warrior
Kogur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 10:07 AM   #16
Wildane
Psychopath w/a conscience
 
Wildane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Hospitality State, asshole!
Posts: 10,540
Anon poster!

/flee
__________________
"I have come to believe that the whole world is an enigma, a harmless enigma that is made terrible by our own mad attempt to interpret it as though it had an underlying truth." - Umberto Eco

"Question with boldness even the existence of a God; because, if there be one, he must more approve of the homage of reason, than that of blind-folded fear." - Thomas Jefferson
Wildane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 10:12 AM   #17
Camien Ta`Mire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Reidsville, GA
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to Camien Ta`Mire Send a message via MSN to Camien Ta`Mire Send a message via Yahoo to Camien Ta`Mire
Ah, I just hover over the chat window I want to scroll through, and use the wheel on my mouse :P No hitting any shift keys for me, unless I am trying to repeat a previous /auc :P
Camien Ta`Mire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 11:29 AM   #18
Magicbutterfly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 74
I have a Usb keyboard and a wireless one and they both don't do the shift thing. My husband's keyboard on the other hand is NOT USB and does it so much that i think his shift is probably busted underneath ><
__________________
Originally Posted by Drysdale
Just because your sand-filled vagina is set to "Extra sensitive" doesn't mean I'm maligning anyone.
Magicbutterfly Passionsfire
Arch Magus of Magister
Magicbutterfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 01:06 PM   #19
Deviator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 567
mine were wireless ps2 and wired ps2 that are doing it. i will try a usb and see if that helps any. i will also try the sticky keys thing. this only started when i got my xp machine btw so it doesnt happen on my 98 machine.

also its not scrolling through your chat window, its scrollin through your last prompts... like your last auctions that causes the issue.
__________________
Master Artisan Deviator - 89 Shaman - Whit`s End
Alchemy 300(345) - Baking 300(345) - Blacksmithing 300(345) - Brewing 300(345)
Fletching 300(345) - Jewelry Making 300(345) - Pottery 300(345) - Tailoring 300(345)
Deviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 06:37 PM   #20
Tumnayar DiSalvo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 155
Sticky keys has nothing to do with it, it's some stupid ass conflicting drivers or something. SoE sucks.
__________________
Consumer of Souls
Reborn Guild and Raid Leader of Altruistic Valorians
Click my magelo for my new theme song!
Tumnayar DiSalvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 07:26 PM   #21
AresProphet
Priest of Hiroshima
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,932
Send a message via MSN to AresProphet
Originally Posted by Tumnayar DiSalvo
Sticky keys has nothing to do with it, it's some stupid ass conflicting drivers or something. SoE sucks.
Yes, SoE sucks for not fixing a minor bug which is (A) avoidable by pushing the buttons differently, (B) does not happen on non-XP machines, and (C) only affects PS/2 keyboards. I'm sure it's a fix as simple as checking a box on a fucking popup window, and that it doesn't at all involve searching through reams of code involving controls trying to figure out why the hell one key has this problem while another doesn't.

Frankly, I think it's an XP thing.
__________________
One of the wonders of the world is going down
It's going down I know
It's one of the blunders of the world that no-one cares
No-one cares enough


Attachment 181
AresProphet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2005, 07:31 PM   #22
Deviator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 567
well since we are on the subject of bugs... does anyone else on xp have a problem with video lag when their log files get over 2mb or so? i notice that when i start a new log file my problems go away, this does not happen on my 98 machine.

what happens is when i do a /who of a zone it takes a few seconds to show it to the screen. when there is alot of commotion going on it will freeze up while turning. this doesnt happen after i start a new log file tho. im thinking it might have something to do with either my mcafee vs/firewall or windows popup stopper but i havent narrowed it down just yet.

this machine is pretty new, and ran fine until dod(no i dont have it yet, but i did do the patch for it) came out, once i called tech support they made me update my video drivers and redo my config file. well it worked after i did the config file but then i found out because the new config file has autolog off. once i turned it back on it started the issue again.

if anyone else is having this problem let me know if you have a fix for it or not. thx
__________________
Master Artisan Deviator - 89 Shaman - Whit`s End
Alchemy 300(345) - Baking 300(345) - Blacksmithing 300(345) - Brewing 300(345)
Fletching 300(345) - Jewelry Making 300(345) - Pottery 300(345) - Tailoring 300(345)
Deviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 04:53 AM   #23
Davek
Squawk Box
 
Davek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ini is the wind beneath my wings.
Posts: 7,987
Nope...I'm currently running with about a 50 meg log file and don't have the problem you're experiencing.
__________________
Davek Bonemender ~ Guild Leader of Sunrunners ~
~ Retired with 8 years of service ~
~ Semi-unretired 2012 ~

Man that just rolls off the tongue nicely.

Originally Posted by Karthanon View Post
I know, you're in Ottawa, Davek. Still, I can't help but /poke you.
Originally Posted by Drysdale View Post
And you wonder why I don't play nice with you? You leave my man buttons alone.. Those are Davek's.
Davek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 06:17 AM   #24
Siene
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 254
Send a message via AIM to Siene
Mine does it all the time. Always happens when Im using the shift/up arrow key to repeat some spam in all caps during a raid. Then I will suddenly notice I am "locked" and all I do to fix it is shift/enter seems to work and I am good to go again. But yes, its the single most fucking annoying thing ever! And I use a logitech key board currently.
__________________
Siene Stormwalker
Grand Arcanist
Siene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2005, 06:43 AM   #25
Kogur
Phatty!
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 689
If you're using a USB keyboard and you're still having this problem, try this:

Click "New". This will create a new databases under the "Custom Databases" section.
Click the "Fix" button on the top menu.
Enter the appropriate information in the next window. Application Name "Everquest", Name of Vendor "Sony Online Entertainment", and then
for Program File Location put in the Full path to your Everquest.exe file (for me, c:\games\everquest\everquest.exe). Click Next.
On this window, make sure operating system mode is set to "None". Don't checkmark anything, just click "Next".
You'll be on the Compatibility Fixes section. Scroll down until you see the DisableStickyKeys and checkmark it. Then click next.
On the next window click the FINISH button.
Make sure you save it before you exit: File - Save. Give it a name and save it somewhere.
Then right click on it and select install to activate it.

It should now be active whenever you run Everquest.

It seems that Windows XP does not actually completely shut down the sticky key function, but this is supposed to. I did both at the same time, created this database and switched to a USB keyboard...So I'm unsure of exactly which one cured it.
__________________
Kogurr Kindsoull
40 Drakken Warrior
Kogur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin. Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.