Erollisi Marr - The Nameless

Go Back   Erollisi Marr - The Nameless > NON EQ Stuff (Real life, other games, etc.) > Technical Related


Reply
 
Add/Share Add/Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2004, 11:21 PM   #1
AresProphet
Priest of Hiroshima
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,932
Send a message via MSN to AresProphet
Default Uberslowdown in XP?

Odd thing happening lately. Had an issue a while back where I had to reinstall Windows XP, essentially putting all my settings back to factory status.

After that, bootups would take increasingly long. Get to the user selection screen of windows and it would freeze rock solid for a while. Not bad, but lately it's up to 5 or 6 minutes. The whole while the CPU grinds away rhythmically and memory usage peaks. I know this because sometimes it'll happen out of the blue while I'm surfing or whatever. I check task manager, and the charts are topped off in the Performance tab, but no process registers so much memory or CPU time.

Updated virus protection, spyware protection, firewall, and every official Windows update. Any thoughts on the problem?
__________________
One of the wonders of the world is going down
It's going down I know
It's one of the blunders of the world that no-one cares
No-one cares enough


Attachment 181
AresProphet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 02:51 AM   #2
Ogmuk
Administrator
 
Ogmuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,334
Have you tried MS's bootvish?
__________________
Ogmuk <Da`Kor>
Ogmuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 06:35 AM   #3
Muertissimo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via AIM to Muertissimo
If you did a clean install of XP, did you download and install the motherboard's chipset drivers? Could be the culprit, especially if it's a VIA mobo. If it is a VIA, good place for info is http://forums.viaarena.com/
__________________
Muertissimo Drachmarr
Pain Dread Blood Lord......Thingy
Proud member of Greylords
Greylords EQ2 too!
Retired member of
Midnight Fury (r.i.p.)


"And I looked, and behold a pale horse. And his name that sat upon him was Death, and Hell followed with him."--Revelation 6:8
"Your greatest creation, is the life you lead."
Muertissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 10:21 AM   #4
AresProphet
Priest of Hiroshima
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,932
Send a message via MSN to AresProphet
Wasn't a clean install Muert; tried to upgrade to XP Pro but was bugged up the wazoo so reinstalled back to XP Home. Fairly sure it's not a VIA, unable to find out conclusively from device manager or DXDIAG...

Ogg, thanks for the link, but:

The Bootvis.exe tool is no longer available from this site.
Besides, 30 seconds is what I used to take to boot up, and it's not a problem I had before the XP reinstall.
__________________
One of the wonders of the world is going down
It's going down I know
It's one of the blunders of the world that no-one cares
No-one cares enough


Attachment 181
AresProphet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 03:46 AM   #5
Ulujain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: La La Land
Posts: 1,930
A link that contains two places you can get bootvis.exe(msi) from.
http://www.tech-heaven.com/forum/sho...?threadid=5211

Both links work as of 6.46am CST
__________________
S.I.G.N.A.T.U.R.E.
Ulujain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 04:36 AM   #6
Ogmuk
Administrator
 
Ogmuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,334
Sorry, I didn't test if the download link worked nor did I check if it even had one. I figured Google would supply enough sites from which you could download BootVis from It looks like Ulujain already posted two working links.
__________________
Ogmuk <Da`Kor>
Ogmuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 10:24 AM   #7
AresProphet
Priest of Hiroshima
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,932
Send a message via MSN to AresProphet
Realized that 5 seconds after posting that I coulda Googled it

Hasn't helped though, and as I'm typing this my mp3 player keeps pausing and going choppy because the CPU time is all being eaten up by somrthing else. Process list shows that only the System Idle Process has any significant portion of it at 98%, which is rather normal. The "perfromance" tab shows CPU usage at a constant 100% though, so something does not add up.

This bugs the hell out of me.
__________________
One of the wonders of the world is going down
It's going down I know
It's one of the blunders of the world that no-one cares
No-one cares enough


Attachment 181
AresProphet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 12:01 PM   #8
Soulz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 28
Originally Posted by AresProphet
Realized that 5 seconds after posting that I coulda Googled it

Hasn't helped though, and as I'm typing this my mp3 player keeps pausing and going choppy because the CPU time is all being eaten up by somrthing else. Process list shows that only the System Idle Process has any significant portion of it at 98%, which is rather normal. The "perfromance" tab shows CPU usage at a constant 100% though, so something does not add up.

This bugs the hell out of me.

I would try using a 3rd party resource program to try to identify where your resources are going... I have encountered similar problems in the past and this program proved to be very helpfull in figuring out what was going on. I am sure there are plenty of others that work great too... Worth a shot...

Soulz
__________________
Soulzkeeper Forestwalker
Mostly Retired Ranger of Emarr
Soulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 07:29 PM   #9
AresProphet
Priest of Hiroshima
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,932
Send a message via MSN to AresProphet
Thanks for the link Soulz. I'm thinkin this'll pinpoint exactly what my problem is. However, since it seems to happen randomly except immediately upon startup, I'll have to wait around for it to occur.

Edit: Holy shit this program rocks! Haven't even had my problem happen but there's more info in that thing than anyone could ever need! It's 1000x better than the task manager!
__________________
One of the wonders of the world is going down
It's going down I know
It's one of the blunders of the world that no-one cares
No-one cares enough


Attachment 181

Last edited by AresProphet; 01-12-2004 at 07:42 PM.
AresProphet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin. Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.