Erollisi Marr - The Nameless

Go Back   Erollisi Marr - The Nameless > NON EQ Stuff (Real life, other games, etc.) > Technical Related

Add/Share Add/Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2004, 11:38 AM   #1
Valleycrest
Defrocked Irish priest

Default My roommate's pRon

I'm trying to set up a peer-to-peer network with my roommate. Currently, we share a cable internet connection using a Microsoft wireless router and network card, which is a pile of shit compared to the Linksys setup. Now, I'm relatively new to this type of networking and I've been trying to figure this network out for over 6 months with no luck. I originally tried the nifty home and small office networking wizard that Windows XP Home provides, but this hadn't worked in the past because it wasn't compatible with my Windows 2000 machine or at least that was the understanding I came to and why I gave up.

Recently though, after a hard drive flush to get rid of some spyware (grrr), I installed XP Home on my machine so now both of us have it. We ran the nifty wizard again, but we were not able to share files or printers. I've set it up so that we have the same workgroup name and I enabled NETBios in the TCP/IP item under the connection. When I go into Network Places and try to click on the "View other computers in my workgroup" command it eventually tells me that the administrator has not granted me permission. I take it our IP addresses are assigned by our ISP and I was unable to assign them manually as some internet site advised to do (I didn't really think that would work, but I was desperate so I tried it). I tried to add some items under the connection properties as another website suggested, but it said I needed a disk with the appropriate drivers. I figured this was the Windows XP Home CD so I tried that but it didn't work.