Erollisi Marr - The Nameless

Go Back   Erollisi Marr - The Nameless > NON EQ Stuff (Real life, other games, etc.) > Technical Related


Reply
 
Add/Share Add/Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2003, 04:21 PM   #1
Azraelwrath
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,102
Default What happened to the bar at the bottom of IE?

I think sometime this summer, the bar you'd usually see on the bottom of internet explorer which tell you how long a site takes to load up and the name of the site your going to has disappeared. It not only has happened to my computer but another guy on my floors computer too. Is this some kind of new thing or is there anything screwy involved? I know that there was a big issue with the blaster worm when everyone started logging in their computers after they moved in the the dorms. If anyone knows anything about my problem or can help me fix it would be nice.
__________________
SOE Applicant: Here is my resume.
SOE Interviewer: It's half finished.
SOE Applicant: So are your products.
SOE Interviewer: You're hired.
Azraelwrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2003, 05:30 PM   #2
cnjmorris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 925
You mean the one you see when you click "View" and then "Status Bar" on the top toolbar?
__________________

Catcen, Level 65 Beastlord.

Newbie for life.
cnjmorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2003, 11:24 AM   #3
Azraelwrath
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,102
Yeah the status bar! Thats it! Got it back on now. Thanks a dozen.
__________________
SOE Applicant: Here is my resume.
SOE Interviewer: It's half finished.
SOE Applicant: So are your products.
SOE Interviewer: You're hired.
Azraelwrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 03:59 PM   #4
Raedwulf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: A nice, cozy den
Posts: 1,786
Send a message via AIM to Raedwulf Send a message via Yahoo to Raedwulf
I've got a question on the status bar. It goes away if I open a new window. Why is that? It didn't used to, but suddenly it simply drops away if I click on a link that opens in a new window. Why doesn't IE use my default in each window? Why don't my links open maximized as I'd like? I hate these two changes in XP.
__________________
- The SOB formerly known as Raedwulf
Raedwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 07:03 PM   #5
Deviator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 567
Raedwulf, try this:

open IE (window should have the bar), then open a new window (which will not have a bar). now goto view/status bar (from the second window). close the first window that already had the bar, then hold ctrl while clicking the x to close the second window that you added the bar to. now all windows should pop up with the bar. this should also work for resizing your windows back to normal, though i have not found a way to get them to be fully maximized yet, but you can resize them to full screen anyway. just be sure to close the first window normally, then close the second while holding ctrl, it should save the settings for all windows. obviously this won't work for windows that open with preset dimensions though, like pop up ads and such.

hope that helped.
__________________
Master Artisan Deviator - 89 Shaman - Whit`s End
Alchemy 300(345) - Baking 300(345) - Blacksmithing 300(345) - Brewing 300(345)
Fletching 300(345) - Jewelry Making 300(345) - Pottery 300(345) - Tailoring 300(345)
Deviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 09:14 PM   #6
Grys
Professional Troublemaker
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaiserslautern, Germany
Posts: 340
Send a message via AIM to Grys Send a message via MSN to Grys
Nice explaination Deviator, this has always been one small annoyance for me.

Now I can surf porn that much more easilly.

Now someone needs to chime in on how to have the windows automaticlly maximize for you so you don't need to manually maximize them.
__________________
Grys Furryfooted (Semi-Retired)
65 Druid Master Troublemaker
Whit's End
Grys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 12:40 AM   #7
Deviator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 567
yeah, i haven't yet figured out how to auto maximize other than to just stretch the window out to full size and ctrl close it, but then thats not really full size, but close enough for porn
__________________
Master Artisan Deviator - 89 Shaman - Whit`s End
Alchemy 300(345) - Baking 300(345) - Blacksmithing 300(345) - Brewing 300(345)
Fletching 300(345) - Jewelry Making 300(345) - Pottery 300(345) - Tailoring 300(345)
Deviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 11:52 AM   #8
Raedwulf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: A nice, cozy den
Posts: 1,786
Send a message via AIM to Raedwulf Send a message via Yahoo to Raedwulf
Thanks, Dev. I can't wait to do this at home tonight. I have a really exciting life lately.
__________________
- The SOB formerly known as Raedwulf
Raedwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2003, 10:01 AM   #9
Raedwulf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: A nice, cozy den
Posts: 1,786
Send a message via AIM to Raedwulf Send a message via Yahoo to Raedwulf
Well, I've tried Dev's instructions a half dozen times, and it don't work. The new window still opens without the Status Bar. I've opened the new window, closed the first, and then closed the new one while pressing CTRL, and the next time I open a new window, I still don't have the Status Bar.

I hate XP Home!
__________________
- The SOB formerly known as Raedwulf
Raedwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2003, 04:05 PM   #10
Deviator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 567
i did some more checking on this, it seems in ie6 this doesnt work for the status bar, only for the resize of the window. they know about the status bar part but havent fixed it yet.

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;330216

this is the link to the KB article on this.

i am using ie6 on both of my computers, one is sp1 and always has the bar, the other is not sp1 and does not have the bar on the second window. i am not sure what causes it in the first place. i am updating my second pc to sp1 now and will test it then to see what happens. will report back sortly
__________________
Master Artisan Deviator - 89 Shaman - Whit`s End
Alchemy 300(345) - Baking 300(345) - Blacksmithing 300(345) - Brewing 300(345)
Fletching 300(345) - Jewelry Making 300(345) - Pottery 300(345) - Tailoring 300(345)
Deviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2003, 04:14 PM   #11
Deviator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 567
ok i upgraded to sp1 and it still does not work, really not sure what else to do at this point short of a complete reinstall but then you may lose all your bookmarks etc and it still may be fooked up, so may be best to just deal with it till they find a fix. sorry i couldnt help.
__________________
Master Artisan Deviator - 89 Shaman - Whit`s End
Alchemy 300(345) - Baking 300(345) - Blacksmithing 300(345) - Brewing 300(345)
Fletching 300(345) - Jewelry Making 300(345) - Pottery 300(345) - Tailoring 300(345)
Deviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2003, 10:54 AM   #12
Raedwulf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: A nice, cozy den
Posts: 1,786
Send a message via AIM to Raedwulf Send a message via Yahoo to Raedwulf
Thanks for giving it a shot. On playing with it some more, new windows that pop up from various links, keep the status bar. It's only when I intentionally open a new one from the File -> New -> Window that it refuses to include the status bar. Very odd.
__________________
- The SOB formerly known as Raedwulf
Raedwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2003, 06:14 PM   #13
Deviator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 567
when coding a pop up window you can specify if your viewers will get the various pieces of the browser window, for instance you can make it have nothing but the page and the title bar if you wish, or you can make it have the url bar, the status bar, the file menu etc. but these have nothing to do with windows you manually open.
__________________
Master Artisan Deviator - 89 Shaman - Whit`s End
Alchemy 300(345) - Baking 300(345) - Blacksmithing 300(345) - Brewing 300(345)
Fletching 300(345) - Jewelry Making 300(345) - Pottery 300(345) - Tailoring 300(345)
Deviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin. Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.